Weezer give us a 10-track covers comp called ‘The Teal Album’

Woof: This surprise release features takes on a-Ha, Tears For Fears, TLC, Michael Jackson and more

We’re pretty sure no one asked for this, but Weezer have surprised us this morning with a new covers album.

The Teal Album, which unfortunately doesn’t include images of the early-’90s San Jose Sharks or Florida Marlins, is the band’s new 10-track covers record that features Weezer giving us renditions of classics from a-Ha (“Take On Me”), TLC (“No Scrubs”), Tears For Fears (“Everybody Wants to Rule the World”), and Michael Jackson (“Billie Jean”).

And yes, their cover of “Africa” by Toto, which became quite a hit in 2018, is included as well.

The Teal Album arrives just a few weeks before Weezer’s expected sixth album, The Black Album, hits on March 1. Stream the covers record below, peep the full tracklist, and cop physical records — complete with special editions that include teal velcro wallets (ugh) and autographed dollar bills — via Weezer’s homepage.

Weezer, The Teal Album Tracklist:
1. “Africa” (Toto)
2. “Everybody Wants to Rule the World” (Tears for Fears)
3. “Sweet Dreams (Are Made Of This)” (The Eurythmics)
4. “Take On Me” (a-Ha)
5. “Happy Together” (The Turtles)
6. “Paranoid” (Black Sabbath)
7. “Mr. Blue Sky” (Electric Light Orchestra)
8. “No Scrubs” (TLC)
9. “Billie Jean” (Michael Jackson)
10. “Stand By Me” (Ben E. King)