Juliana Hatfield is releasing a full album of Olivia Newton-John covers


Studio 52 is a community artist space located in the heart of Allston, and is proud to support the Boston music scene and local artist community.

A few weeks ago at the Q Division holiday party, Juliana Hatfield performed live and busted out a few Olivia Newton-John covers. If you weren’t there, don’t sweat it, because the Massachusetts musician is set to release a full album of those covers, titled Juliana Hatfield Sings Olivia Newton-John.

The album features Hatfield’s renditions of 14 Newton-John classics and deep cuts, including familiar hits like “I Honestly Love You,” “Magic,” “Physical,” and “Xanadu.” It’s out April 13 via American Laundromat Records, and is available for pre-order.

“I have never not loved Olivia Newton-John,” Hatfield states. “Her music has brought me so much pure joy throughout my life. I loved her when I was a child and I love her still. Her voice and her positive energy and her melodies have stood the test of time and they give me as much pleasure now as they ever did. Listening to her is an escape into a beautiful place. She has inspired me so much personally and I just wanted to give something back; to share some of these tremendous songs, reinterpreted, with love, by me.”

Juliana Hatfield Sings Olivia Newton-John will be available in several formats and bundles, including cassette, compact disc, and colored vinyl, and there’s a bonus 7-inch, limited to 300 copies, with two extra tracks and artwork by Hatfield’s recent collaborator Paul Westerberg. A dollar from the sale of each album will be donated to the Olivia Newton-John Cancer Wellness & Research Centre; get all the pre-order info here.

Hatfield, meanwhile, headlines the Hot Stove Cool Music charity concert February 3 at The Paradise Rock Club.

Juliana Hatfield Sings Olivia Newton-John Track List:
“I Honestly Love You”
“Suspended In Time”
“Have You Never Been Mellow”
“A Little More Love”
“Totally Hot”
“Don’t Stop Believin'”
“Please Mr. Please”
“Hopelessly Devoted To You”
“Dancin’ ‘Round And ‘Round”
“Make A Move On Me”
“I Honestly Love You (Reprise)” [*CD, cassette and digital Only]

Bonus 7-Inch Tracklist:
“Deeper Than The Night”
“Heart Attack”