Electro duo ADULT. return with new LP, share first single featuring Nitzer Ebb’s Douglas J McCarthy


Once upon a time in the early ’00s, Detroit electro duo ADULT. ushered in a new wave of retro mechanical minimalism. Nicola Kuperus and Adam Lee Miller crushed dance floors with tracks like “Hand To Phone (Cordless Mix)” and “Nausea (Restructured)”, but like most from that era, their sound and style quickly faded from view.

The duo have released a handful of art-minded LPS since then, but this week return with details on a new album and a fresh single featuring Nitzer Ebb’s Douglas J McCarthy. The track is called “They’re Just Words,” and you can hear it below.

The song is off ADULT.’s new collaborative album Detroit House Guests, conceived after a 2014 John S. and James L. Knight Foundation grant. It features Michael Gira from Swans, Light Asylum’s Shannon Funchess, and many others, and it’s out March 17 on Mute. Track list is below.


“P rts M ss ng” (featuring Robert Aiki Aubrey Lowe)
“Breathe On” (featuring Michael Gira)
“Into the Drum” (featuring Lun*na Menoh)
“We Are a Mirror” (featuring Douglas J McCarthy)
“Enter the Fray” (featuring Dorit Chrysler)
“Uncomfortable Positions” (featuring Lun*na Menoh)
“We Chase the Sound” (featuring Shannon Funchess)
“They’re Just Words” (featuring Douglas J McCarthy)
“Inexhaustible” (featuring Dorit Chrysler)
“Stop (and Start Again)” (featuring Shannon Funchess)
“This Situation” (featuring Robert Aiki Aubrey Lowe)
“As You Dream” (featuring Michael Gira)