Collaboration Technique: Brandon Flowers, Iggy Pop, La Roux to guest on New Order’s ‘Music Complete’


Details of New Order’s upcoming studio record Music Complete are starting to surface.

According to news reports, guests on the legendary electronic pop band’s 10th album — as well as first for Mute Records and first without founding bassist Peter Hook — include the Killers’ vocalist Brandon Flowers, Iggy Pop, and La Roux’s Elly Jackson.

From the Guardian:


Although each artist represents a different musical strand – punk, pop and stadium rock – they all have a connection to New Order: Brandon Flowers, who sings on Superheated, named the Killers after a fictitious band logo that featured in the video for the 2001 New Order single Crystal; Iggy Pop performed Joy Division’s Love Will Tear Us Apart at the Tibet House benefit in New York last year, and now features on the track Stray Dog; Jackson, who has previously toured with the group, provides backing vocals on Plastic, Tutti Frutti and People On The High Line.

In addition to the collaboration news, New order released a third teaser video, which you can watch below, and announced a string of European live appearances set for November. Music Complete is set for release on September 25. Pre-order it here.

4 Nov – Paris, Casino de Paris
6 Nov – Brussels, Ancienne Belgique
8 Nov – Stockholm, Annexet
11 Nov – Berlin, Tempodrom
16 Nov – London, Brixton Academy
19 Nov – Glasgow, Academy
21 Nov – Liverpool, Olympia
24 Nov – Wolverhampton, Civic Hall
Tickets go on sale from 9am on Friday July 10



Here are the first two New Order teaser clips, released in June…