Regional Focus: Here are the nominations in the 2014 New England Music Awards


There are only a few short hours left in 2014, but coming in just under the wire before the New Year is the list of nominees in the 2014 New England Music Awards.

And much like the Boston Music Awards a few weeks ago, singer/guitarist Will Dailey is leading the charge. Dailey is up for three NEMAs, including Album of the Year (National Throat), Song of the Year (“Sunken Ship”), and Male Performer of the Year. Scan the full list of nominees below.

The fourth annual awards show goes down Saturday April 18 at Showcase Live at Patriot Place in Foxborough, Mass., relocating from its home earlier this year in Lowell. The night is hosted by Boston Comedy Festival winner Dave Russo, and features live performances by Pat & The Hats, Marina Evans, Willie J. Laws Band, Ben Knight, Amy & The Engine, Sarah Barrios, and We Were Astronauts.

According to the NEMA website, the nominees are compiled by a “NEMA nominating committee consist[ing] of journalists from music publications, radio personalities, talent buyers, and record label execs collectively representing all six New England states.” Public voting to determine the winners in the 2014 NEMAs should be open in early 2015 is now open.

Advance tickets to the party are now on sale.

Here’s the full list of nominees…

Band of the Year
Kung Fu
Girls, Guns, and Glory
Shana Stack Band
Jason Spooner Band

Album of the Year
National Throat, Will Dailey
Good Luck, Girls, Guns, and Glory
You’ve Got The Wrong Man, Joe Fletcher
Beautiful Lights, McLovins
Diamond from Coal, My Silent Bravery
Kin, Waylon Speed

Song of the Year
“Sunken Ship,” Will Dailey
“Arctic Shark, Quilt
“Until it Ends,” Waylon Speed
“Fireflies,” Jason Spooner Band
“What’s it all About,” West End Blend
“Bad Decisions,” Josh Logan

Producer of the Year
Brian Coombes
Warren Huart
Victor Farrantella
Tom Hambridge
Ted Paduck
Eric Lichter

Songwriter of the Year
Hayley Sabella
Elison Jackson
Justin Levinson
Abbie Barrett
Kate Callahan
Sasha Yatchenko

Male Performer of the Year
Will Evans
Alex Preston
Dan Blakeslee
Will Dailey
Tracy Walton
Zack Jones

Female Performer of the Year
Ashley Jordan
Jessie Chris
Sarah Barrios
Faith Ziegler
Marina Evans
Anna Lombard

Live Act of the Year
Roots of Creation
Last Call
Aldous Collins Band
Santa Mamba

New Act of the Year
Lizzy Marella
The Snaz
West End Blend
Space Pony
Amy & The Engine
Ben Knight

Roots Act of the Year
Ballroom Thieves
Ghost of Paul Revere
Four Legged Faithful
Little Ugly
Bella’s Bartok
Dusty Gray Band

Country Act of the Year
Houston Bernard
AJ Jensen
Annie Brobst
Ben Cesare
North of Nashville
The Rory Scott Band

Pop Act of the Year
Lux Deluxe
The Go To
We Built the Moon
Pat & The Hats
The Dejas

Rock Act of the Year
Fifth Freedom
We Were Astronauts
Roz and the Rice Cakes
Crushed Out
When Particles Collide

Jazz Act of the Year
Rebecca Kingsley
The Primate Fiasco
Revolutionary Snake Ensemble
Los Sugar Kings
Dale Le Page and the Manhattens

Blues Act of the Year
The Willie J Laws Band
Erin Harpe and The Delta Swingers
Quinn Sullivan
Mr Nick & The Dirty Tricks
Jeff Pitchell
Sugar Ray and the Bluetones

Hip Hop Act of the Year
Joey Batts & Them
Lady Essence

Metal Act of the Year
Still Well Angel
Blindside Thunder
A Simple Complex
Dead Season
Forget Tomorrow

Best in State: Massachusetts
The Grown Up Noise
Dan and The Wildfire
The Off Chance
High Hopes Band
Ross Livermore Band

Best in State: Rhode Island
The Silks
The Rare Occasions
Haunt The House
Satellites Fall

Best in State: New Hampshire
Tan Vampires
Best Not Broken
Gretchen & The Pickpockets
Blacklight Ruckus
Jandee Lee Porter Band

Best in State: Maine
The Band Appllo
Hilton Park
Bangtown Timebomb
Muddy Ruckus
Sygnal to Noise

Best in State: Vermont
The Vacant Lots
Dwight & Nicole

Best in State: Connecticut
Atlas Gray
Jennifer Hill and Co.
Oh Cassius
The Meadows Brothers
Balkun Brothers