Vanyaland encourages every American to vote on November 3. Click here to register.

617 Sessions shares ‘Sound of Our Town’ Boston music compilation


Here’s some advance sounds courtesy of a slew of 2019 Boston Music Awards nominees. Ahead of the official ballots out next week, 617 Sessions has shared the second edition of its Sound of Our Town digital compilation of Boston music, and it’s released today (September 13) on all major streaming platforms.

The sophomore comp includes new material from Rex Mac, The Water Cycle,  Hayley Sabella, VQnC, Hawthorn, Brandie Blaze, House of Harm, Seefour, TiDES, and CD Rose. All of the tracks were recorded and mixed at The Bridge Sound and Stage, free of charge for each artist.

Next Friday (September 20), each of the 10 songs will be eligible for the “617 Sessions Artist of the Year” category of the Boston Music Awards. The three artists with the most votes will be asked to perform at the House of Blues at the awards ceremony on December 11, and the overall winner will be honored that evening as well.


“Participating in the 617Sessions was a very, very exciting opportunity, because I was given the time and space to work on a song/concept that wasn’t necessarily tied to an album,” says 2019 featured artist VQnC. “As a creative I am constantly dissecting my world, my feelings, and my experiences — and sometimes these different thoughts lead to songs that fit well into a body of work, and sometimes they do not.”

VQnC adds: “Given the cost/barriers to recording when you do it as an indie artist, it’s for a specific album that you are working on, so it was really amazing being able to really explore a concept and bring all the studio quality to the execution without the ‘Uh oh, how am I going to tie this piece in a large cohesive piece of work?’, especially since this song is also [a] style very different than my last release.”

Check out the entire compilation below.