The track listing on Courtney Barnett’s new album pretty much sums up life in 2018


Earlier today we wrote about Courtney Barnett’s new song “Nameless, Faceless,” a track in which the Australian musician details lyrically the myriad threats women face each and every day, whether via online trolls or real-life murderers. “Nameless, Faceless” is the first offering from Barnett’s forthcoming album Tell Me How You Really Feel, and it’s out May 18 through Mom + Pop, Marathon Artists, and Barnett’s own label Milk! Records.

The album’s announcement came with the full track listing, and we can’t help but think Barnett is really speaking for everyone with the titles of her 10 new songs.

Talk about encapsulating 2018 and all its ongoing dread.

“City Looks Pretty”
“Need a Little Time”
“Nameless, Faceless”
“I’m Not Your Mother, I’m Not Your Bitch”
“Crippling Self Doubt and a General Lack of Self-Confidence”
“Help Your Self”
“Walkin’ on Eggshells”
“Sunday Roast”

It’s like a choose-your-own-adventure game where you select what ails you on any given day, except any given day is actually every day and you don’t do the choosing, because these issues choose you, and they come all at once instead of one at a time.

Hello, zeitgeist. See you at the roast on Sunday, at least.

It’s in the city, so bring wine.

Featured image by Eddy Leiva for Vanyaland, from Barnett’s 2016 appearance at Boston Calling Music Festival.