Playlist Premiere: Close out 2016 with Nick Minieri’s ‘Hometown III’ Boston producer showcase


They say New Year’s Eve is amateur hour, and usually we agree. But come this December 31, we’ll all be dancing harder than ever to shake off any ill will built up during a miserable 2016. This morning, however, we get the party started 12 days early as Boston’s dance music maven Nick Minieri fires up his annual Hometown playlist.

The 34-track, 78-minute mix features a few artists and producers we’ve hyped here on Vanyaland over the past year or so, like Camino 84, Tone Ra, and Brrio, as well as a wealth of new sounds and vibes that should keep the party going over repeated spins.

“2016 wasn’t the greatest year, but at least it didn’t stop Boston’s thriving culture of artists in the underground dance scene from making music,” Minieri tells us. “While some argue we lose our best talent to better opportunities in larger cities, I’d like to think these annual Hometown mixes prove we still have plenty of strength right in our own backyard.”


So what’s on tap for mix number three?

“Keeping in tradition with past installments, Hometown III shines the spotlight on local favorites including Zebbler Encanti Experience, Saucy Lady, and Moduloktopus while also giving well-deserved credit to the likes of up-and-coming talent like Camino 84, Saltus, and Darko (each of which have enjoyed tremendous traction in recent months). Over 30 different artists are featured here, spanning a wide range of styles and social circles. Enjoy!”

That we will. Check the full tracklist after the Soundcloud jump.


Nick Minieri, Hometown III (2016 Boston Producer Showcase Mix)
Insha: Everyman (Intro)
GMGN: In the Groove
Camino 84: Methods of Flotation
Saucy Lady: Magic Dust (Yuki’s Mix)
Dusty Digital: Deeper Than My Deepest Blue
Rufus Gibson: Gruv it to the Flo
Jack Novin: Sunshine
Smeed & Suspence: Drive
Will Monotone & Blythe: 8OH8
Adam Noya: Gravity
Twism & B3RAO: Funk Soul Brother
Nick Minieri: The Charm
Deezy & Embee: So Far
Adam Gibbons & Leo Alarcon: Afrikan Swing
Darko: Ill Jazz
Hot Pot: Watercress
Flylosophy: Basement Thing
Micetro: That Fire
Yukihiro Kanesaka & Kelvin Sylvester: Soul Rhythm
Fuzzy Fotch: Callaloo
Tone Ra x Wilder Hobson: Undertow
Brrio: Don’t Fall In the Pond
Undrig: Artaud Double Master
Saltus: Drone
American Dave: I Wanna Go Now
Lightfoot: Garden
Insha: Reason
Moduloktopus: Formless
Saltus: Shades of Truth
Zebbler Encanti Experience & Ganavya: Inner G
Beardthug: Back to Bassix
L’Homie: Eternal