Bat House announce new self-titled album; listen to shapeshifting single ‘Patterns’

A few weeks ago at Vundabar’s sold-out Vanyaland Presents show at Brighton Music Hall, Bat House stood on the Allston stage and marveled at how they were performing to such a large and raucous crowd without having released any properly recorded music for sale. That feeling is about to change, all while the crowds should no doubt get larger and even livelier for one of Boston’s finest new bands.

This morning, the psychedelic math rock quartet announced their self-titled debut album, due April 14 of next year and recorded at Converse Rubber Tracks studio. The LP is led by the shapeshifting, airtight “Patterns”, a space-shot of modern, disjointed guitar-rock that smolders with the gritty spark and fade born of Allston’s celebrated basement scene.

Comprised of Emmet Hayes (bass/vocals), Nicole Pompei (drums), Alexandra Juleen (guitar) and Shane Blank (guitar), Bat House create the type of smart rock that draws equal emotion for crowds in both clubs and DIY spaces, and the new LP should elevate their status even higher. Ask an Allston punk for the location of their next show, December 9 in a spot located not too far from Brighton Music Hall.