Click here to donate and support Vanyaland

Whatever Forever: Juliana Hatfield Three unveil new album details, stream single, ‘If I Could’


In October, the Juliana Hatfield Three announced their reformation and a crowd funding campaign for a new album, their first since 1993’s one-and-only Become What You Are. Seems the fundraising was a success (not that we ever doubted it), because today we not only have a new single from the trio of Hatfield, drummer Todd Philips, and bassist Dean Fisher, but also details on the new record.

Whatever, My Love will be released February 17 through American Laundromat Records, and the first single, the jangly “If I Could,” is available to stream below.

Here’s some more info on the record, with track listing and full view of the album’s cover art after the Soundcloud jump:


Recorded at Nuthouse Recording in Hoboken, NJ and co-produced by Hatfield and Tom Beaujour (Nada Surf, Guided By Voices, Minor Alps), the twelve songs on Whatever, My Love are gorgeous and punk, sleazy and sweet, unsentimental and funny. Hatfield, humble as always, acknowledges that, “We haven’t totally reinvented the wheel or anything” with this new album and that the recordings exhibit “stuff I am sort of known for, I guess”: a guitar-centric melodicism and lyrical examinations of emotional confusion. “But I am a lot more confident now than I was then with the first album…”

A North American tour is expected to be announced soon for February and March. In the meantime, we have this excellent new single.


Juliana Hatfield Three Whatever, My Love track list:
1. Invisible
2. Now That I Have Found You
3. Ordinary Guy
4. If Only We Were Dogs
5. I’m Shy
6. Dog On A Chain
7. If I Could
8. Push Pin
9. Blame The Stylist
10. I Don’t Know What To Do With My Hands
11. Wood
12. Parking Lots