Burst Into Heaven: Listen to the new single from Montreal psych trio Elephant Stone

Photo Credit: Bowen Stead & Daniel Barkley

Now that the Montreal Canadiens have finally been eliminated from the NHL Playoffs, it’s safe for New England music websites to resume listening to bands from the city of a hundred bell towers.

Psychedelic rock trio Elephant Stone — who may or may not take their name from the Stone Roses song but we’ll just assume they do — swing in just in time with the announcement of their new record The Three Poisons, out August 26 via Hidden Pony Records (with an assist from Burger Records for those collecting cassettes). Pre-order it up.

To get us properly worked up, Elephant Stone today teased the first single, The Three Poisons‘ title track. It’s a trippy little rumbler that’s heavy on the low-end, merging the band’s traditional Indian influences with modern psychedelic rock. And perhaps most impressively, it gets it all done in under four minutes.

Elephant Stone savant Rishi Dhir explains the new record in an excerpt below.

“…the band is in deep, working on the follow-up to our self-titled 2013 release. I don’t think it was just me, but things felt different this time around. The grooves were groovier, the sonics rumbled heavier, and the songs were connecting to something bigger. It wasn’t until Malika Tirolien came in to record her inspired backing vocals for ‘Knock You From Yr Mountain’ and ‘All Is Burning’ that I reflected on that abandoned record collection I inherited and the trip it took me on. In that moment I heard the groove of the Mondays, the darkness of Echo, the jangle of Ride… but what I truly heard and felt coming together in these new batch of songs was—and is—unequivocally the sound of Elephant Stone.”

Anything that raises a glass to the jangle of Ride is cool with us. Even if they’re Habs fans (they’re probably not).

Listen to “Three Poisons” below, daydream of a global tour with Temples, then check out the track listing and artwork after the jump…

[embedvideo id=”1_moJiezbz8″ website=”youtube”]

The artwork for The Three Poisons was created by Bowen Stead and Daniel Barkley. Let’s get weird.

Elephant Stone Three Poisons track listing:
1. Motherless Child (Love’s Not For War)
2. Knock You From Yr Mountain
3. All is Burning
4. Worlds Don’t Begin And End With You
5. Wayward Son
6. Intermediate State
7. Child Of Nature (Om Namah Sivaya)
8. Living For Something
9. Three Poisons
10. Echo & The Machine
11. Between the Lines

Photo Credit Bowen Stead & Daniel Barkley