Spring Fling: Download the fourth volume of DJ Knife’s ‘Strange Brew’ dance mix series


Photo by Mick Murray

It’s been about a year since DJ Knife last dropped a “Strange Brew” mix, and this latest installment, his fourth, comes at exactly the right time. We mean, look outside. Fucking look out there. Spring has sprung, Boston, and here’s the soundtrack to get that grill party started.

Knife unveiled the 43-track mix — which features his usual eclectic blend, lining up everyone from Solange to the Cribs (whaa?!) to local lust-boys Gentlemen Hall — this afternoon for your listening and download pleasure, but the release party goes down Thursday at his home base of Good Life when he hits the basement decks alongside 7L, Sober, and Braun Dapper.


And much like your friendly neighborhood thrift shop, he’s also giving away free CDs to all who attend. But don’t worry, this is an Mp3-holding drink coaster you’ll want to get your grubby little hands on. There are digital files in there.

Here’s the good word from Knife:

“Wow I can’t believe it’s been a year since I put a Strange Brew mix out! As usual, I tried to pack in as many musical genres as possible into one fluid blend just using turntables and a Rane 57. This one’s about an hour long with 43 tracks in just under an hour’s time. From soft rock to 90s jungle, it’s pretty all over the map. Shout outs to DJs Tony Touch, QBert, Scream and Felli Fel for the drops, Alfredo Rico-Dimas for the art, Will C for the mastering and my man Jiggy for always sending tracks my way. So here it is!! Enjoy!”


Dig it…

And here’s the track listing, for those scoring at home:

1. Intro
2. Oh My God (DJ Pump Refix) – A Tribe Called Quest
3. Ain’t Nothing To Twerk With (Mighty Mi & Slugworth Remix) – Wu Tang Clan
4. Be Quiet – Falcons
5. Shadow Of The Beast – Perseus
6. If (Kaytranada Remix) – Janet Jackson
7. Get Involved (Pickster Remix) – Raphael Saadiq & Q-Tip
8. Girls – French Horn Rebellion
9. Cool – Le Youth
10. Body – Touch Sensitive
11. Losing You – Solange
12. Mornin Edit 2012 – Star Slinger
13. Special (Diggz Edit) – Phonique & Sharam Jey
14. That Body (Diggz Edit) – Sharam Jey
15. Be Your Girl (Kaytranada Edition) – Teedra Moses
16. Elouisa (Late Night Tuff Guy’s Just Wanna Dance Dub) – The Swiss
17. Youth (Le Youth Remix) – Foxes
18. Sex Me (Stripped Down Stompin Mix) – R.Kelly & Hollis Monroe
19. Foot Prints (Doc’s Big Booty Retro Mix) – A Tribe Called Quest & Doc Martin
20. You’re Not Good Enuff (Holy Ghost Bootleg) – Blood Orange
21. Kill The Time – Tensnake & Fiora
22. Steal Away – Robbie Dupree
23. Sea – Roosevelt
24. Sail Into The Sun (Lenno Remix) – Gentleman Hall
25. Only You Can Show Me (The Knocks Remix) – Goldroom & Mereki Beach
26. Cloud Life – Treasure Fingers
27. Men’s Needs – The Cribs
28. Daja Vu (Nico Stadi Remix) – Brillz
29. Let Me Show Em (K.W. Griff Tribute Version) – Murder Mark
30. Michael Jackson in BMore – Murder Mark
31. Ice Chasm (813 Remix) – HYDRABADD
32. Touch Me (J-Lah Remix) – Cathy Dennis
33. Move That Doh – Future ft. Pharrell, Pusha T & Casino
34. Treat Me Right – Keys N Krates
35. Rock U Tonite – Wave Racer
36. Suite: Judy Blue Eyes – Crosby, Stills & Nash
37. (Love Is Like A) Heat Wave X Hard Time Riddim (Emynd Edit) – Martha And The Vandellas
38. Don’t Be Shy (Wave Racer Remix) – DCUP
39. Make A Move (Branchez Remix) (Benzi Edit) – Sweater Beats
40. Incredible – M-Beat ft. General Levy
41. Fire (Urban Shakedown Mix) – Prizna ft. Demolition Man
42. Inglish Outro – 100s ft. Ice Cold Perm
43. Your Style – Troy Ave. ft. Lloyd Banks