Judas Priest, Radiohead, Rage Against The Machine, Kate Bush lead 2018 Rock Hall nominations

The Rock and Roll Hall of Fame unveiled its nominations for the Class of 2018 this morning (October 5), and the newcomers to the ballot are Judas Priest, Radiohead, Rage Against The Machine, Kate Bush, Eurythmics, Dire Straits, Moody Blues, Nina Simone, and Sister Rosetta Tharpe.

Among the holdovers in the list of 19 nominees are Bon Jovi, Depeche Mode, MC5, LL Cool J, and a pair of notable Boston bands, The Cars and J. Geils Band.

An induction of J. Geils Band next year would be particularly bittersweet after the April death of guitarist, co-founder, and namesake of John Warren “J.” Geils Jr.

Fans can place their vote via online polling. Starting today and running through December 5, votes can be cast by the public at rockhall.com/vote. According to Variety, “[t]he top five artists, as selected by the public, will comprise a ‘fans’ ballot’ that will be tallied along with the other ballots to choose the 2018 inductees. Fans will need to login with a Facebook account or email to vote. Voting is capped at one ballot per day.”

To be eligible to appear on a Rock Hall ballot, a band or musician must have released a first single or album at least 25 years prior, making 1992 the arrival date for this class.

Here’s the full ballot (new entries marked by *):
Bon Jovi
Kate Bush*
The Cars
Depeche Mode
Dire Straits*
J. Geils Band
Judas Priest*
LL Cool J
The MC5
The Meters
Moody Blues*
Rage Against the Machine*
Rufus featuring Chaka Khan
Nina Simone*
Sister Rosetta Tharpe*
Link Wray
The Zombies

Rock And Roll Hall Of Fame 2018 ceremony goes down April 14, 2018, at Cleveland’s Public Auditorium. HBO will broadcast the ceremony. Featured RATM photo via International Talent Booking.