Demon Am I: Danzig covers Elvis, Aerosmith, Everly Brothers on new ‘Skeletons’ LP

When Danzig rolls into the 2015 Rock and Shock horror movie and music convention this weekend in Worcester, he’ll be technically be pushing a new album. But it will be unlike any other in his celebrated history.

Skeletons, Danzig’s new covers album, is due November 27 via Evilive/AFM, and features the former Misfits and Samhaim singer taking on Aerosmith, Elvis Presley, ZZ Top, the Everly Brothers, Black Sabbath, the Troggs, and others. It’s Danzig’s first new release since 2010’s Deth Red Saboath, and was recorded between 2012 and 2015 in Los Angeles.

“These are my skeletons,” Glenn Danzig says in a press release. “You may or may not know that I dig these songs. You could say that some of this music is the actual basis and skeleton of what I listened to growing up — ultimately informing the kind of music I like. It’s the foundation. If you took Elvis and Sabbath out of my life, I probably wouldn’t be the Glenn Danzig you know! I’m glad both sides are represented on this record.”

Of his bluesy take on Presley’s “Let Yourself Go,” from the film Speedway, he adds: “I thought it was a song I could do something really cool with. It’s also something that I didn’t think anyone would necessarily expect. When you tell them you’re going to do an Elvis cover, they expect something they know. Not a lot of people know this one. It’s actually on the ’68 Comeback Special, and it’s worth going back to.”

His Aerosmith pick, “Lord Of The Thighs,” off 1974’s Get Your Wings, is another deeper cut. “People might be surprised I like that second Aerosmith record,” he says. “There are tracks on there, especially ‘Lord Of Your Thighs’, that stand out to me. However, if you hear theirs and then you hear ours, ours is much heavier.”

Check out the full track listing — and glorious album artwork — below…

Danzig Skeletons track listing:
01. Devil’s Angels (DAVIE ALLAN & THE ARROWS cover)
02. Satan (theme from “Satan’s Sadists”)
03. Let Yourself Go (ELVIS PRESLEY cover)
04. N.I.B. (BLACK SABBATH cover)
05. Lord Of The Thighs (AEROSMITH cover)
06. Action Woman (THE LITTER cover)
07. Rough Boy (ZZ TOP cover)
08. With A Girl Like You (THE TROGGS cover)
09. Find Somebody (THE RASCALS cover)
10. Crying In The Rain (THE EVERLY BROTHERS cover)