Leedz Edutainment delivers versatile ‘Eastern Standard’ hip-hop comp


Studio 52 is a community artist space located in the heart of Allston, and is proud to support the Boston music scene and local artist community.

Much has been made of the rise of Boston hip-hop over the past few years as it carves out its own voice and stature among other cities across the country. Now, Leedz Edutainment is looking for Boston to not compete with cities like New York and Philly when it comes to the rap game, but stand together with them in one unfied front of artistry.

The result is a new 21-track hip-hop comp titled Eastern Standard, and it brings together an array of artists all linked together by the Eastern Time Zone. So we can all save the Yankees-Red Sox rivalry and results of this past Super Bowl (which we’ve already forgotten about) for another day.

“I wanted to have artists from all the eastern standard time zone states, coming together under one cohesive sound/theme,” says Leedz CEO Ned Wellbery, who also runs The Middle East in Cambridge. “I always loved compilations that did that like Soul In The Hole, Belly, and Judgment Night. It seems to be a dying artform these days.”

On the board for all but two of the tracks on Eastern Standard is producer The Arcitype, while Teddy Roxpin jumps in on a pair of selections, “Source Of Power” featuring Slaine and “EveryThing Y’all Owe Us” featuring Mr Solid 150 and Stu Lee. The Arcitype and Teddy Roxpin join forces on “Scream” featuring Jarv.

“Source Of Power” also gets the video treatment today, and you can watch that here or after the Eastern Standard jump. Featured image up top of Maine rapper Spose.

Eastern Standard Tracklist:
01. “The East Coast (feat. Mega Ran)
02. “The Motions (feat. Rite Hook & Chris Rivers)
03. “Where The Wild Things Are (feat. STL GLD, Ransom & Blank Face)
04. “Source Of Power (feat. Slaine)
05. “Buy My $h!T (feat. Spose)
06. “Never Lived It (feat. Cam Meekins, Sap & Michael Christmas)
07. “Pharaoh Gold (feat. Tut, Deacon The Villain & Natti of CunninLyguists)
08. “The Good & The Bad (feat. Chris Orrick)
09. “On The Run (feat. B.Dolan & Rite Hook)
10. “Izzy Dead (feat. Copywrite)
11. “Mechanical Movement (feat. Blacastan & Marvalyss)
12. “Enjoy The Movie (feat. Rite Hook & K.A.A.N)
13. “Scream (feat. Jarv)
14. “Set the Bar (feat. Tef Wesley)
15. “I Want It All (feat. Awon & Dephlow)
16. “Glass Case (feat. JSwiss & Jared Evan)
17. “Say The Word (feat. Dan Johns & The HunchPunch Champ)
18. “EveryThing Y’all Owe Us (feat. Mr Solid 150 & Stu Lee)
19. “King Of The Worst (feat. Dinosaur Burps)
20. “Seem So Hard (feat. Granite State)
21. “H.E.R. (Love Me Not) (feat. Rel)
* All tracks produced by The Arcitype, except tracks 4 and 18, produced by Teddy Roxpin. Track 13 produced by Teddy Roxpin & The Arcitype.