Here Comes Your Band: Pixies announce first full-length in 20 years

Credit: Dana Yarvin

Following years of makeups, breakups, lots of touring and sporadic time spent in the studio, the Pixies have announced details for Indie Cindy, the band’s first full studio album since 1991’s Trompe le Monde, scheduled for release April 29. But it’s not as gigantic as it sounds on the surface; the record is comprised of September’s EP-1, January’s EP-2 and the just released EP-3. Having been made available only in digital and limited-edition vinyl formats, Indie Cindy marks the first time fans can have all of the new Pixies music in one collection.

“We started seriously talking about recording new music about four years ago,” said Pixies drummer David Lovering in a statement. “New music seemed like something we just had to do, we just couldn’t continue to go out and tour without anything new. So the talk evolved into writing and recording, and we’re all very happy with the way everything worked out.”

The dozen cuts on Indie Cindy were produced by Gil Norton, producer of the band’s classic Doolittle, Bossanova, and Trompe le Monde albums, and recorded during October 2012 at Rockfield Studios in Wales, UK. The various packages feature a collection of brand new artwork by the legendary graphic artist Vaughan Oliver who created the artwork for all of Pixies’ previous releases.

Indie Cindy features “Bagboy,” the band’s first new song in more than a decade, the eight tracks from the band’s EP-1 and EP-2, released September 3, 2013 and January 3, 2014 respectively, plus the three new tunes EP-3 – all written and performed by the Black Francis, Joey Santiago and Lovering. Though original Pixies bassist Kim Deal split the group last June and was replaced first by The Muffs Kim Shattuck and more recently Paz Lenchantin, it’s Simon “Dingo” Archer who handled bass duties throughout the Indie Cindy recording sessions.
Indie CindyIndie Cindy will be available in a variety of formats, including a special deluxe, limited edition (5,000) two-disc set (available as a CD and as a deluxe gatefold album pressed on 180-gram vinyl) that includes the 13-track live disc, Live in the USA. This deluxe package also includes a 40-page, hard-back book that features the new artwork produced exclusively for Indie Cindy. The CD limited edition is packaged in a special gold-foil hard slipcase. Pre-orders for most configurations can be placed beginning today at iTunes, Amazon, and other online retail outlets.

On April 19, a week before the official release date and exclusively for Record Store Day, Pixies will make Indie Cindy available as a special RSD limited edition, two-disc, deluxe gatefold, 180-gram vinyl set, only from independent record stores participating in RSD around the world. And according to the band, “When these are gone, they’re gone.”

Indie Cindy tracklisting:

What Goes Boom
Greens and Blues
Indie Cindy
Magdalena 318
Silver Snail
Blue Eyed Hexe
Ring the Bell
Another Toe in the Ocean
Andro Queen
Jaime Bravo

Live in the USA tracklisting:

Bone Machine
Magdalena 318
Indie Cindy
I’ve Been Tired
Head On
The Sad Punk
Distance Equals Rate Times Time
Something Against You
Isla de Encanta
Planet of Sound