Placebo return with 20-year retrospective album; listen to soaring new single ‘Jesus’ Son’


Don’t look now, but Placebo are celebrating 20 years of bruised knees, empty pill bottles, and brash rock and roll. The enduring British band are capping off their two decades of dirty business with a new retrospective album, A Place For Us To Dream — 20 Years Of Placebo, and today released the collection’s bonus track, a spirited new song called “Jesus’ Son.”

The band writes: “Ladies & Gentlemen, and those of you who find yourselves in between… We are delighted to present the brand new video for ‘Jesus’ Son’ directed by Joe Connor.”

Watch it below, and read our 2013 interview with Brian Molko here.


Placebo’s new compilation is out October 7, and comes in various formats, like deluxe vinyl box set and double CD bound-book edition, which is said to include a 32-page case book of “never-before-seen photos curated by Brian Molko and Stefan Olsdal, from throughout the band’s 20 year career.”

Check out the CD track list album art below, and yes, that image is taken from the 2011 Vancouver riots, the night the Boston Bruins defeated the Canucks in the Stanley Cup Finals.

A Place For Us To Dream – 20 Years Of Placebo CD Track Listing
Disc 1
01. Pure Morning (Radio Edit)
02. Jesus’ Son (Radio Edit)
03. Come Home
04. Every You Every Me (Single Version)
05. Too Many Friends
06. Nancy Boy (Radio Edit)
07. 36 Degrees (Version 2016)
08. Taste In Men (Radio Edit)
09. The Bitter End
10. Without You I’m Nothing (feat. David Bowie)
11. English Summer Rain (Single Verison)
12. Breathe Underwater (Slow)
13. Soulmates
14. Meds (feat. Alison Mosshart)
15. Bright Lights (Single Version)
16. Song To Say Goodbye (Radio Edit)
17. Infra-Red
18. Running Up That Hill

Disc 2
01. B3 (Radio Edit)
02. For What It’s Worth
03. Teenage Angst
04. You Don’t Care About Us (Radio Edit)
05. Ashtray Heart
06. Broken Promise (feat. Michael Stripe)
07. Slave To The Wage (Radio Edit)
08. Bruise Pristine (Radio Edit)
09. This Picture
10. Protège Moi
11. Because I Want You (Redux)
12. Black-Eyed
13. Lazarus
14. I Know (Version 2008)
15. A Million Little Pieces (Radio Edit)
16. Special Needs (Radio Edit)
17. Special K
18. Loud Like Love

Placebo 20