Coldplay wake up a bit with kinda lively new single ‘Adventure Of A Lifetime’

Much has been made of Coldplay’s seventh and alleged “final” album, and now we know why: A Head Full Of Dreams, out December 4 via Parlophone/Atlantic Records, is going to be a wildly collaborative affair with an optimistic sound. It’ll feature more guests than any previous Coldplay album, with Beyonc√©, Noel Gallagher, Tove Lo and Merry Clayton all contributing, and the initial vibe is worth noting — first single “Adventure of a Lifetime” is a rather upbeat pop number, sounding a bit like a more tropical version of a Noel Gallagher’s High Flying Birds tune.

The follow-up to 2014’s Ghost Stories, A Head Full Of Dreams was recorded in Malibu, Los Angeles and London, and was produced by Norwegian duo Stargate alongside Coldplay’s long-time collaborator Rik Simpson. The press release tells us: “Coldplay have never enjoyed making a record more than this one. Nor have they been happier with the results.”

Well it certainly sounds like it. Peep the full track list below, as well as the album art, and listen to “Adventure of a Lifetime” via YouTube. Featured photo up top by Julia Kennedy.

Tracklisting – A Head Full Of Dreams
1. A Head Full Of Dreams
2. Birds
3. Hymn For The Weekend
4. Everglow
5. Adventure Of A Lifetime
6. Fun
7. Kaleidoscope
8. Army Of One
9. Amazing Day
10. Colour Spectrum
11. Up&Up