Single Mode: Martin Gore announces instrumental solo record; listen to ‘Europa Hymn’


Depeche Mode co-founder Martin Gore has announced a new instrumental solo record today led by first single “Europa Hymn”, and while it has an alleged space theme in its title, it also feels appropriate for driving music cruising around the frozen wasteland that currently is Boston.

The electronic composition has a dramatic, but calm, feel to it. Listen to it via Soundcloud below.

“I wanted to keep the music very electronic, very filmic, and give it an almost sci-fi like quality,” Gore says in a press release. “Music is a necessity for me. I go into the studio at least five days a week, every week, so once I had the idea and the template, the process was quick and fun.”

“Europa Hymn” is the first taste off the upcoming 16-track LP, MG, due April 28 on longtime Depeche Mode home Mute Records. It was recorded by Gore after Depeche Mode’s 2013 tour at his home studio in Santa Barbara, Calif.

Check out the full track listing below…

Martin Gore, MG:
01 Pinking
02 Swanning
03 Exalt
04 Elk
05 Brink
06 Europa Hymn
07 Creeper
08 Spiral
09 Stealth
10 Hum
11 Islet
12 Crowly
13 Trysting
14 Southerly
15 Featherlight
16 Blade