Vanyaland encourages every American to vote on November 3. Click here to register.

30 Pop: Passion Pit release ‘Lifted Up (1985)’, the first single off new album Kindred

Passion Pit

According to the new Passion Pit song that dropped today, “1985 was a good year.” And who could argue? The Smiths released Meat Is Murder, the Breakfast Club soundtrack ruled, and a-ha colored their way into our black-and-white hearts. There’s mad nostalgia for what went down 30 years ago, but here’s something current to get us equally excited: “Lifted Up (1985).”

The track is the first taste of new music odd Passion Pit’s upcoming third record, Kindred, which becomes available to pre-order tomorrow. It’s officially out April 21 via Columbia, and those who pre-order this week will score “Lifted Up (1985)” along with another Kindred track, “Where the Sky Hangs.”

Last week, British radio debuted Madeon’s new single “Pay No Minds,” which featured collaboration with Passion Pit frontman and songwriter Michael Angelakos.


Check out the bubbly, album-opening “Lifted Up (1985)” — which sounds like vintage Passion Pit — below, and scan the full Kindred track list after the album artwork video jump.

Passion Pit, Kindred:
01 Lifted Up (1985)
02 Whole Life Story
03 Where the Sky Hangs
04 All I Want
05 Five Foot Ten (I)
06 Dancing on the Grave
07 Until We Can’t (Let’s Go)
08 Looks Like Rain
09 My Brother Taught Me How to Swim
10 Ten Feet Tall (II)