The 2014 Boston Music Awards nominations will be unveiled at Sound Of Our Town [set times listed]

For perhaps the first time since its creation in 1987, people, bands, and music fans will have a chance to vote on the Boston Music Awards while watching some of the nominees up on stage. That’s because the 2014 BMAs ballot will be first unveiled this Saturday at the Sound Of Our Town, a Vanyaland-curated, BMAs-produced event at the Lawn On D that will serve, in part, to kick off voting season.

Around 3:20 p.m., I will be joined by BMAs director Jake Brennan on stage to announce the entire slate of Boston Music Award nominations. Voting will then be compiled in real-time up on a giant LED screen, which will cycle through all the categories for the next several hours as the performers do their thing.

Fans in attendance will be directed to a url where they can vote, and votes cast all day and night at Sound Of Our Town will be weighted more heavily than the online public voting that will commence after this weekend.

The Boston Music Awards will then be held on Sunday, December 16 at the Revere Hotel in Boston, its first year at the swank-ass Theatre District spot.

Meanwhile, here are the set times for Saturday’s festivities, including the Tent Stage, which was unveiled yesterday. For profiles on each Main Stage artist performing, see our Sound Of Our Town special section. To see who else is attending the event, click here.

Sound Of Our Town is FREE, all-ages, and open to the public. It’s a rain or shine event.

Sound Of Our Town
October 4 @ Lawn On D
9:00 – 10:00 p.m.: The Both
8:05 – 8:35 p.m.: Eli “Paperboy” Reed
7:10 – 7:40 p.m.: Speedy Ortiz
6:15 – 6:45 p.m.: Quilt
5:20 – 5:50 p.m.: Hooray For Earth
4:25 – 4:55 p.m.: Dutch ReBelle
3:35 – 4:05 p.m.: Parks
3:20: Boston Music Awards nomination announcement
3:00 – 3:15 p.m.: The Grownup Noise

8:35 – 9:00 p.m.: DJ Frank White
7:40 – 8:05 p.m.: Louie Bello
6:45 – 7:10 p.m.: Louie Bello
5:50 – 6:15 p.m.: Leandro Pellegrino
4:44 – 5:20 p.m.: Soft Pyramids
4:05 – 4:25 p.m.: DJ Chris Ewen

Updated Sound Of Our Town