Back In Motion: New Order sign deal with independent label Mute Records


In recent interviews Bernard Sumner has hinted out at out some upcoming New Order news, and today it looks like we have it: the pioneering Manchester electronic music band have signed a record deal with Mute Records.

The independent British label announced the deal this morning, and will officially deliver New Order’s 10th studio record.

Says Mute founder Daniel Miller: “This is an exciting new chapter for both Mute and New Order and I feel privileged to be working with artists with such a long, creative and successful history. When the possibility of us working together first came up, I was invited to hear some of the new material and immediately had no doubts whatsoever that Mute would be the right home for New Order. We’ve already had a number of creative conversations, and I am looking towards an exciting future.”

Mute’s current roster includes Goldfrapp, Erasure, Plastikman, Liars, Can, Cabaret Voltaire, and others, and in the past has released music by Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds, Depeche Mode, Plastikman and Moby.

The band chipped in a celebratory note via Mute as well, declaring, as a group: “New Order are delighted to be signing to Mute. We couldn’t imagine a better place to be than working with Daniel Miller and his team. Mute has a superb roster of artists and a history that complements our own. In many ways joining the label feels like we are coming home, returning to our independent roots.”

Meanwhile, Sumner’s new book, Chapter and Verse — New Order, Joy Division, and Me is out September 25 in the UK. The cover is below.

Sumner book