Announcing Sound Of Our Town, the Boston Music Awards kickoff festival at Lawn On D

[dropcap]E[/dropcap]ach year, the Boston Music Awards season usually ends with a big-ass party in December. This fall, it’s kicking off with one, too: Vanyaland is teaming up with the BMAs to curate the first-annual Sound Of Our Town music festival, a celebration of our city’s music scene past and present at Lawn On D in South Boston.

Scheduled to perform at the free, all-day October 4 party are The Both, featuring Aimee Mann and Ted Leo, Eli “Paperboy” Reed, Speedy Ortiz, Dutch ReBelle, Quilt, Hooray For Earth, Parks, and the Grownup Noise.

Sound Of Our Town is in conjunction with Lawn On D’s newly-minted D Street Music project, and will also launch the voting season of the Boston Music Awards. It will feature interspersal programming, DJs, between-band entertainments, and other amenities to be announced in the coming weeks.

“For years we have been trying to figure out a way to blow out the BMAs, but the question of how to expand a loosely structured, not for profit, awards show was always tough to answer,” says producer Jake Brennan. “When the opportunity arose to program at the Lawn On D with D Street Music, we thought why not just add an entirely new program? Something bigger, more festival-like, and something that can celebrate not only musicians from the Boston area that are currently emerging and coming into their own (Speedy Ortiz) but also artists whose sound was shaped by their time in Boston (Aimee Mann, Eli Reed, etc.).”

The 2014 Boston Music Award nominations will be announced on site at Sound Of Our Town, and voting will commence immediately. Voting by festival-goers will be weighed more heavily than online voting after October 4.

Check out the official flyer below, designed by Nicole Anguish of Daykamp Creative, and preview the performing artists after the poster jump. This year’s Boston Music Awards goes down December 14 at the Revere Hotel in Downtown Boston.

Sound Of Our Town Flyer

The Both, featuring Aimee Mann and Ted Leo

Eli “Paperboy” Reed

Speedy Ortiz


Hooray For Earth

Dutch ReBelle


The Grownup Noise