Watch Morrissey’s spoken word promo video for ‘World Peace…” featuring Nancy Sinatra


Morrissey has released a new single this morning, the yearning “World Peace Is None Of Your Business,” and to celebrate, the former Smith has unveiled a spoken word video of the track that features a brief cameo from Nancy Sinatra.

The 84-second clip shows Moz at a piano, looking fancy in a tuxedo, while speaking lyrics like “You must not tamper with arrangements / Work hard, and simply pay your taxes / Never asking, what for / Oh you poor little fool.” He also lashes out against police brutality, the rich, and voting practices: “Each time you vote, you support the process.”

“World Peace Is None Of Your Business is the lead and opening track off Morrissey’s new album of the same name, due July 15 via Harvest/Capitol. You can download the single and pre-order the LP via iTunes.


Moz comes to Boston June 7 for a performance at the Opera House.

Below is the single’s cover art, tracklist via Slicing Up Eyeballs, and a live rendition of the new track from San Jose. Read David Thorpe’s review of the City National Civic show for Vanyaland.

Moz World Peace

Tracklist: Morrissey, World Peace Is None of Your Business

1. “World Peace is None of Your Business”
2. “Neal Cassady Drops Dead”
3. “Istanbul”
4. “I’m Not a Man”
5. “Earth Is the Loneliest Planet”
6. “Staircase at the University”
7. “The Bullfighter Dies”
8. “Kiss Me a Lot”
9. “Smiler With Knife”
10. “Kick the Bride Down the Aisle”
11. “Mountjoy”
12. “Oboe Concerto”
13. “Scandinavia” (Deluxe Edition)
14. “One of Our Own” (Deluxe Edition)
15. “Drag the River” (Deluxe Edition)
16. “Forgive Someone” (Deluxe Edition)
17. “Julie in the Weeds” (Deluxe Edition)
18. “Art-Hounds” (Deluxe Edition)